Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award shortlist revealed

pictish trail johhny lynch

Pictish Trail has won the public vote to make the shortlist for the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award 2017.  

He will join the likes of Mogwai and RM Hubbert on the shortlist of 10 albums. Pictish Trail’s Future Echoes was selected by the public via a 72 hour vote while the other nine chosen by an independent judging panel.

Johnny Lynch, who goes under the guise of Pictish Trail said: Wow. Surprised, confused, humbled and mildly aroused to have won the popular vote for the SAY shortlist.

‘Thank you to all those that voted for Future Echoes, and to all those who forgot to vote but who would have voted for a different album. I couldn’t have done it without you.’

The SAY Award winner will be announced on 28 June in the elegant surroundings of Paisley Town Hall with the winner receiving £20,000 as a cash prize.

The SAY Award 2017 shortlist is as follows:

C Duncan – The Midnight Sun
Ela Orleans – Circles Of Upper And Lower Hell
Honeyblood – Babes Never Die
Konx-om-Pax – Caramel
Meursault – I Will Kill Again
Mogwai – Atomic
Pictish Trail – Future Echoes
Rachel Newton – Here’s My Heart Come Take It
RM Hubbert – Telling The Trees
Sacred Paws – Strike A Match

The public can listen to and learn more about each album on The SAY Award Shortlist at