Scottish Awards for New Music reveal shortlist

A panel comprised of key figures in the music industry have made their selections from over 200 nominations submitted across 11 categories.

The panellists included BBC Scotland’s senior music producer Lindsey Pell, the artistic director of Dark Music Days Gunnar Karel Másson and flautist Aisling Agnew.

The Scottish Awards for New Music ceremony will take place on 13 May at Drygate Brewery in Glasgow, will be hosted by Kate Molleson, and features the Large Scale New Work award sponsored by PRS for Music.

Oliver Searle, chair, New Music Scotland, says: ‘These submissions have been of consistently high standards, and really demonstrate how wide-ranging and innovative the contemporary music scene is here in Scotland. The panel was really impressed by the overall quality, creativity and strength of the nominations.’

Stuart Fleming, Senior Manager Scotland & Northern Ireland, PRS for Music, added: ‘I am delighted for PRS for Music to be supporting the Scottish Awards for New Music as it returns for a third year. Though still relatively new, it’s quickly become a real highlight in the music calendar and is an important celebration of contemporary music in Scotland. Congratulations to all of the nominees in each category, including Large Scale New Work – I look forward to celebrating with you all in May.’

The shortlists are as follows:

EVM Award for Electroacoustic/Sound Art Work

Louise Harris – Vixaurihelix
Alex Menzies – Other World Music Vol 1
Pippa Murphy – Breathe in me

The Dorico Award for Small Scale New Work sponsored by Steinberg (1-10 performers)

James Dillon – Quartet No. 9
Claire McCue – I Regret Your Sex
Lisa Robertson – The Inimitable Brightness of the Air

Large Scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

Helen Grime – Woven Space
David Fennessy – Triptych
Ailie Robertson – Caoineadh

Recorded New Work

ANNO:Four Seasons by Anna Meredith & Antonio Vivaldi –  Anna Meredith and the Scottish Ensemble – Moshi Moshi Music
Out of Silence – John Mcleod  / RSNO / Evelyn Glennie / Holly Mathieson – Delphian Records
softLOUD Sean Shibe – Delphian Records

Collaboration in New Music

Anthems for Queer Youth – Patricia Auchterlonie / Gareth Mattey / Savage Parade / Robert Reid Allan
Simon Thacker’s Shara Kanti – Simon Thacker / Neyveli / B. Venkatesh / K.V. Gopalakrishna / N Guruprasad/ Farida Yesmin / Raju Das Baul / Sunayana Ghosh
WEAR – Alastair White / Gemma A. Williams

Community/Education Project

Get Composing – sound
Incredible Distance – Scottish Chamber Orchestra / WHALE Arts / Fruitmarket Gallery / Scottish Society of Artists
Lost At Sea – East Neuk Festival / Scanner / Svend McEwan-Brown

The RCS Award for Contribution to New Music in Scotland

Red Note Ensemble
Enterprise Music Scotland
Fiona Robertson

Creative Programming

The Night With…

The Good Spirits Company Award for Innovation in New Folk Music

Ailie Robertson – Seven Sorrows
Grit Orchestra – Bothy Culture

The RCS Award for Making It Happen

Glasgow Experimental Music Series
Nevis Ensemble
Nordic Viola

New Music Performer(s) of the Year

Drake Music Scotland
Garth Knox

For more information and to book tickets, please visit