Suede sign deal with BMG Chrysalis UK

SuedeSuede songwriters Brett Anderson, Richard Oakes and Neil Codling have signed a new publishing deal with BMG Chrysalis UK.

Classic Suede hits such as The Drowners, Metal Mickey, Animal Nitrate, So Young and The Wild Ones are all included in the arrangement.

The deal covers all of Suede’s work from their self-titled, Mercury Music Prize winning debut album from 1993 to the band’s recent return to form with sixth album Bloodsports.

Richard Oakes and Neil Codling’s songwriting credits since they joined the band in 1994 and 1996 respectively are both included in the deal.

Alexi Cory-Smith, senior vice president of BMG Chrysalis UK, said: ‘Suede’s music has resonated for over 20 years with a distinct creative vision. We are delighted Brett, Richard and Neil have chosen BMG.’

Didz Hammond, Suede manager, added: ‘Obviously, there’s great value in Suede’s back catalogue, but looking forward there is great value in Brett, Richard and Neil as songwriters, and BMG Chrysalis get that.’

The band’s six albums include Suede and Dog Man Star by the original line up, Coming Up, Head Music and A New Morning (with Richard and Neil in the line up) and latest album Bloodsports.

Suede will tour the UK in October. The dates are:

22 October – Southampton Guildhall

23 October – Southend Cliff Pavillion

24 October – Bristol O2 Academy

26 October – Leeds O2 Academy

27 October – Barrowlands, Glasgow

28 October – Olympia, Dublin

30 October – Academy 1, Manchester

31 October – Academy 1, Birmingham