The 1975 lead the Brits with two big wins

PRS for Music members The 1975 were the big winners at the 2019 edition of the Brit Awards, taking home the gongs for best British group and album of the year.

Elsewhere, Jorja Smith bagged the British female solo artist award, George Ezra was crowned British male solo artist, and Tom Walker took home the British breakthrough act trophy at last night’s (21 February) ceremony.

As the 1975 emerged as the night’s big winners for their third record, A Brief Enquiry into Online Relationships, the band’s singer Matty Healy took the opportunity to address misogyny in the music industry, having claimed last year that it, ‘no longer existed in rock and roll.’

He said: ‘Male misogynist acts are examined for nuance and defended as traits of ‘difficult’ artists, [while] women and those who call them out are treated as hysterics who don’t understand art.’

George Ezra performed his number one single Shotgun at the event and said of his win: ‘There’s a not a day goes by where I don’t count myself very lucky and this is the icing on the cake.’

Meanwhile Jorja Smith said of her win: ‘This is for all the little girls and women who are being themselves and loving everything they’re doing,’ and performed Don’t Watch Me Cry at London’s O2 Academy.

Calvin Harris was awarded his first two Brits, winning both music producer of the year and best single for One Kiss with Dua Lipa.

Other Winners on the night included Sam Fender for Critic’s Choice, and Little Mix for British Video.

BRITs 2019 winners in full

British Album of the Year

The 1975 – A Brief Enquiry into Online Relationships

British Female Solo Artist

Jorja Smith

British Male Solo Artist

George Ezra

British Group

The 1975

British Breakthrough Act

Tom Walker

Critic’s Choice

Sam Fender

British Single

Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa – One Kiss

British Video

Little Mix ft Nicki Minaj – Woman Like Me

International Male Solo Artist


International Female Solo Artist

Ariana Grande

International Group

The Carters

Brits Global Success Award

Ed Sheeran

British Producer of the Year

Calvin Harris

Outstanding Contribution to Music