The Ivors Academy announce Gold Badge 2019 recipients

Trevor Nelson, Vanessa Reed and Olga Fitzroy are among those who will be recognised at the ceremony in October.

The Ivors Academy has revealed the first round of recipients of this years Gold Badge honour, which celebrates outstanding contributions to the music creator community.

Broadcaster Edith Bowman will host the 46th edition of the PRS for Music and PPL sponsored ceremony at The Savoy in London on 11 October.

The event recognises individuals who inspire or support creativity and the professional lives of Academy members.

The Gold Badge acknowledges contributions from across the industry including music publishing, production and broadcasting, alongside champions of urban, dance, jazz and contemporary classical music.

The Ivors Academy Gold Badge 2019 recipients are as follows:

Odaline de la Martinez – distinguished composer and conductor and Artistic Director of Lontano ensemble
Jane Dyball – major music publishing influencer and former CEO of the MPA Group
Olga FitzRoy – award-winning engineer and mixer and dedicated campaigner for self-employed families, fronted by ‘#SelfieLeave’ Bill
Nikki Iles critically acclaimed jazz pianist, composer and educator
Omar Lye-Fook MBE – leading icon of British soul music, prolific singer, songwriter and artist
Thalia Myers – exceptional pianist and teacher who is a powerful advocate of new music
Trevor Nelson MBE – multi-Award winning broadcaster and champion of urban music
Chris Philips – highly respected broadcaster who has dedicated himself to the promotion of Jazz in the UK
Lohan Presencer – pioneer of electronic music and culture, Chairman of the Ministry of Sound Group
Vanessa Reed – dedicated to supporting and improving conditions for composers, artists and music organisations. President & CEO of New Music USA and former CEO of PRS Foundation. This is presented in association with PRS for Music.

Crispin Hunt, chair, The Ivors Academy, says: ‘For over 45 years we have presented Gold Badges to acknowledge those who have enriched and inspired the music creator community. The Ivors Academy is honoured to celebrate this diverse group of truly remarkable individuals, and pay tribute to their influence as highly influential champions of songwriters and composers in the UK.’

Tickets for the ceremony are on sale now. For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit