The xx and Alt-J lead AIM Awards 2013 shortlist

AIM AwardsThe xx, Ghostpoet and Alt-J are among the artists in the running to win prizes at the Association of Independent Music’s (AIM) third annual awards. 

Xfm’s John Kennedy revealed the shortlist for at London’s Gibson Guitar Studio last night (6 August) with a host of singer songwriters, bands and record labels all nominated.

Both The xx and Ghostpoet will battle it out for best independent album alongside the likes of Jon Hopkins, Public Service Broadcasting and Daughter.

Elsewhere Alt-J have been shortlisted for hardest working band with Enter Shikari and Sam Lee also named in the category.

Other artists to receive nominations include Bonobo, Johnny Marr and The National.

Rough Trade’s Geoff Travis and Billy Bragg have already been named as recipients of the Pioneer Award and Outstanding Contribution to Music prizes respectively.

Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq will announce the winners at an event at London’s The Brewery on 3 September.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Live Act (in association with The Fly)

Bellowhead (Navigator)

Bonobo (Ninja Tune)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)

Johnny Marr (New Voodoo)

The National (4AD)

Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7digital)

The 1975 (Dirty Hit)

Daughter (4AD)

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

Palma Violets (Rough Trade)

Passenger (Nettwerk)

Public Service Broadcasting (Test Card Recordings)

Hardest Working Band or Artist 

Alt-J (Infectious)

The Computers (One Little Indian)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings)

Frankie and the Heartstrings (Wichita)

Sam Lee (Nest Collective)

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm)

Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Major Lazer – Free The Universe (Because Music)

Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)

The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings)

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services)

Alcopop! Records

Gringo Records


Rocket Girl

Too Pure Singles Club

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon)

Bonobo – The North Borders (Ninja Tune)

Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador)

The Horrors – Higher (XL Recordings)

Various Artists – Kenya Special (Soundway Records)

Various Artists – Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red)

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival

(sponsored by UK Music, in association with AIF and This is Fake DIY)

Hebridean Celtic Festival

In The Woods


Truck Festival

Y Not Festival

Independent Video of the Year (Sponsored by Vevo)

Childhood – Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists)

David Byrne & St Vincent – Who (4AD)

Django Django – WOR (Because Music)

Grimes – Genesis (4AD)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop (Macklemore LLC)

The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies (Distiller Records)

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by Consolidated Independent)

Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music

Joe Sparrow – A New Band A Day

John Kennedy – XFM

Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music

Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music

Independent Track of the Year (Sponsored by Spotify)

Daughter – Youth (4AD)

Jagwar Ma – The Throw (Marathon Artists)

Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Rough Trade)

Passenger – Let Her Go (Nettwerk)

TNGHT – Higher Ground (Warp Records)

Vampire Weekend – Diane Young (XL Recordings)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act

The 2 Bears (Southern Fried)

Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade)

Alt-J (Infectious)

Django Django (Because Music)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC)

INDEPENDENT ALBUM OF THE YEAR (in association with Record Store Day)

Daughter – If You Leave (4AD)

David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant (4AD)

Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings)

Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Marathon Artists)

John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Jon Hopkins – Immunity (Domino)

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed)

Public Service Broadcasting – Inform – Educate – Entertain (Test Card Recordings)

Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (XL Recordings)

The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings)

Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)

Bella Union

Cooking Vinyl


[PIAS] Recordings

Warp Records

Pioneer Award (sponsored by The Orchard) – Geoff Travis (Rough Trade)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic) – Billy Bragg (Cooking Vinyl)

Buy tickets for the event at