Unsigned Music Awards 2018 nominees announced

Kojey Radical

Kojey Radical (pictured), Jorja Smith, Dave, Ezra Collective and IDLES are among the nominees announced for the Unsigned Music Awards (UMAs) 2018.

Kojey Radical and Jorja Smith lead with three nominations each, followed by Violet Skies, Poppy Ajudha, IDLES and Dave who all received two.

The awards recognise the achievements of artists that are not signed to a record deal or who, ‘have chosen to remain proudly independent’.

A panel of 100 professionals and influencers from across the UK music industry cast their votes from a list of thousands of applicants, which has been narrowed down to 16 categories representing the very best in independent and unsigned UK talent across all genres.

The televised awards will take place on 16 May at Brighton Centre, as the official opening ceremony of The Great Escape.

Performing on the night so far are Mullally, Newton Faulkner, Anavae| Tayla and Foreign Beggers.

Simon O’Kelly, chief executive officer of UMA Music Group and UMAs said: ‘We are excited to continue the growth of the Unsigned Music Awards as a platform to promote unsigned, self-signed and otherwise emerging artists, around the world.

‘Opening Europe’s largest festival for new music with an award ceremony that recognises only new music makes perfect sense and we can’t think of a more suitable partner to bring this vision to life, than Live Nation.’

UMA 2018 nominations

Best Urban Act
Raheem Bakare
Kojey Radical
Josh Barry

Best Rock Act – Sponsored by Strange Place
The People The Poet
The Harlers
Saint Agnes
The Bay Rays
These Wicked Rivers

Best Country / Folk Act – Sponsored by Ticketmaster & Universe
Adam Beattie
Katy Hurt
Laura Oakes
Danni Nicholls
Ferris & Sylvester

Best Jazz / Blues Act
Ezra Collective
Oscar Jerome
Ruby Rushton
Poppy Ajudha

Best Songwriter
Harry Pane
Jorja Smith
Albert Gold
Violet Skies

Best Produced Record
Ginger Snaps – Number Crunching
Jalen N’Gonda – Why I Try
Strong Asian Mothers – Animal
Cattle & Cane – Mirrors
Le Flex – The Dancefloor Suite

Best Music Video – Sponsored by Fastrax
Dave – Question Time
Poppy Ajudha ft Kojey Radical – Spilling Into You
Femme – Fire With Fire
Foreign Beggars – Bosh
Eyre Llew – Atelo

Best International Music Video – Sponsored by YouTube
Jarami – Hear This
Gus Dapperton – Prune, You Talk Funny
Charlotte Day Wilson – Work
Fletcher – You Should Talk
Beissoul & Einius – Lion

Best Female Solo Act – Sponsored by Nasty Gal
Jorja Smith
Violet Skies
Joy Crookes
Maisie Peters
Suzi Wu

Best Male Solo Act
Kojey Radical
Rex Orange County
Bruno Major
Benny Mails

Best International Record – Sponsored by Shazam
Stella Donnelly – Thrush Metal
Siv Jakobsen – The Nordic Mellow
Steve Lacy – Steve Lacy’s Demo
Vérité – Somewhere In Between
Gus Dapperton – Yellow and Such

Best Record – Sponsored by BIMM
Bruno Major – Song For Every Moon
Tom Misch – 5 Day Mischon
IDLES – Brutalism
Toddla T – Foreign Light
Jorja Smith – Project 11
Elder Island – Seeds In Sand

Best Electronic Act – Sponsored by Mood Media
Wide Awake
Elder Island
Catching Flies

Best Live Act – Sponsored by Live Nation
Stereo Honey
Bang Bang Romeo
Sam Fender
Strange Bones

UMA Choice Award – Sponsored by UMA Music
Too Many T’s
The Kings Parade
Rina Sawayama
Bang Bang Romeo

UMA Icon Award