Vaughan Williams songs to be performed on month-long bicycle tour

David Jones

Award-winning baritone David Jones has announced a thousand-mile musical pilgrimage on bicycle to mark the sixtieth anniversary of composer Ralph Vaughan Williams’ death.

Jones will set off on 18 May to cycle across Britain, stopping off at nine locations along the journey to perform Vaughan Williams’ Songs of Travel.

The nine songs were written by Vaughan Williams between 1901 and 1904, with poems taken from Robert Louis Stevenson’s collection Songs of Travel and Other Verses.

Jones – winner of the 2015 AESS Patricia Routledge English Song Competition – will cycle through the Scottish and English landscapes that inspired both the composer and poet, exploring, ‘how travelling through the scenery that inspired Vaughan Williams changes a performer’s sensibility and deepens his interpretation of the songs’.

Titled Song Cycle, the project is carried out in support of the Live Music Now charity, which works to bring live music to people that otherwise would not have access to it, with a focus on older people in residential homes and those living with dementia.

A collection for Live Music Now will be made at all Song Cycle concerts.

To support the project, visit the Just Giving page here. See below for the list of concerts.


02 May – Oxford Pre-Tour: MBI Auditorium
21 May – Inverness: Spectrum Centre Theatre
25 May – Perth: Perth Concert Hall – 11AM
27 May – Moffat: Old Well Theatre
29 May – Carlisle: Carlisle Cathedral – 12.45pm
31 May – Lancaster: Lancaster Priory – 12.30pm
04 June – Sutton Coldfield: Holy Trinity Church
07 June – Bledington: St Leonard’s Church – 11AM
07 June – Cheltenham: Vinnie’s Eatery
09 June – Bristol: St George’s Church, 11AM

Photo: Alejandro Tamagno.