Welsh Music Prize 2016 shortlist announced

the anchoress

The Anchoress, Skindred and Meilyr Jones are among the shortlisted artists for the Welsh Music Prize 2016.

Taking place 24 November, the initiatives champions the best musical talent coming out of Wales. Created in 2011 by BBC Radio 1 DJ, Huw Stephens and music promoter, John Rostron, previous winners have included Gwenno Saunders, Future of the Left and Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys.

Commenting, John Rostron said: ‘This is an incredibly strong shortlist for the Welsh Music Prize.

‘Twelve very different records, made by some well established artists and some new emerging stars with songs that embrace a whole host of genres, sounds and influences. Congratulations to them all. So many great albums are being released from Wales at the moment – it’s a really good time to be listening to new music and finding some new favourites.’

The Welsh Music Prize 2016 will be held on Thursday 24 November 2016 at The Depot, Cardiff. PRS for Music, Otley Brewery and Jack Daniels are among the sponsors.

Visit welshmusicprize.com to pick up your tickets for the event.

The twelve shortlisted 2016 artists are:

9Bach – Tincian
Alun Gaffey – Alun Gaffey
Cate Le Bon – Crab Day
Climbing Trees – Borders
Datblygu – Porwr Trallod
Meilyr Jones – 2013
Plu – Tir a Golau
Right Hand Left Hand – Right Hand Left Hand
Simon Love – It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time
Skindred – Volume
Swnami – Swnami
The Anchoress – Confessions of a Romance Novelist