Welsh Music Prize 2018 shortlist announced

gwenno saunders

Gwenno (pictured), Seazoo, Manic Street Preachers and Gruff Rhys are among the talent to be nominated for this year’s Welsh Music Prize.

They are joined by recent PRS Presents alumni Boy Azooga, plus Bryde, Astroid Boys, Alex Dingley and Toby Hay.

Local talent MELLT, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita, and Eugene Capper and Rhodri Brooks also join the 12-strong list.

The winner of the eighth annual prize will be chosen by a panel of industry experts and announced on 7 November at a ceremony in Cardiff. New for this year, an additional Welsh Music Inspiration Award will be presented on the night.

The event is sponsored by Welsh Government Creative Industries, PPL and PRS for Music.

John Morris, PRS for Music senior membership relations manager, Wales, said: ‘I am delighted PRS for Music is supporting the prestigious Welsh Music Prize, championing the best music and artists of Wales.

‘There were many great Welsh albums released this year and the list of nominees selected paint a rich picture of the Welsh music landscape, with a myriad of genres and styles. Congratulations to all those nominated – we look forward to celebrating with you all next month.’

Previous Welsh Music Prize winners are Gruff Rhys (2011), Future of the Left (2012), Georgia Ruth (2013), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Gwenno (2015), Meilyr Jones (2016) and the Gentle Good (2017). Many have gone on to achieve subsequent success, not only in Wales but on a UK and international platform.