Welsh Music Prize 2018 winner revealed

boy azooga band

Day-glo indie-rockers Boy Azooga have won the Welsh Music Prize 2018 for their album 1,2, Kung Fu.

The Cardiff fourpiece, who recently performed at a PRS for Music Presents event in their hometown, beat off stiff competition from fellow nominees including Gwenno, Gruff Rhys and Manic Street Preachers.

The band’s sound was first conceived by Davey Newington, a maraca-loving, sleighbell-waving multi-instrumentalist, back in 2016.

Their resulting debut album distils all of his favourite bits of Tame Impala, Super Furry Animals, William Onyeabor, Ty Segall, Beastie Boys and Black Sabbath into 30 minutes of high octane indie.

Accepting the award, Newington said: ‘This is a proper honour to be recognised, with just all the other amazing people nominated. Just to be part of Welsh music at the moment is exciting.’

The inaugural Welsh Music Inspiration Award was also given out to the singer-songwriter Meic Stevens at a ceremony at Cardiff’s Coal Exchange yesterday (7 November).

The 76-year-old from Pembrokeshire has enjoyed prolific career, starting out in the folk clubs of the mid-sixties before going on to influence generations of Welsh musicians.

Past winners of the Welsh Music Prize include Gareth Bonello (2017), Meilyr Jones (2016), Gwenno (2015) and Joanna Gruesome (2014).

The event is sponsored by Welsh Government Creative Industries, PPL and PRS for Music.

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed