Winners announced for MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards 2019

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards took place on Saturday night and were broadcast live from Aberdeen Music Hall.

The event was hosted by Gaelic singer Mary Ann Kennedy and award-winning musician Kim Carnie.

Guests enjoyed live performances by trad music heroes including Skerryvore, Session A9, Benedict Morris, Heisk and Sian.

The biggest award, The Belhaven Bursary for Innovation in Scottish Music in association with Showcase Scotland Expo, supports the winner to progress unique ideas and empower creation. Financially matched only by the Mercury Prize, the prestigious fund of £25,000 was awarded to Kinnaris Quintet, making them the first all-female band to win the prize.

Breabach were presented with the Album of the Year Award for their sixth album, Frenzy of the Meeting.

As well as presenting the night, Mary Ann Kennedy won Gaelic Singer of the Year.

Adding to her list of Trad Award accolades was Jenna Reid, who won Composer of the Year battling against an all-female shortlist.

Jenna’s group Blazin’ Fiddles were also awarded Folk Band of the Year.

Club of the Year went to Sutherland Sessions, a newly formed organisation who provide opportunities for young local musicians to play live music and bring local, national and international musicians to Sutherland.

The sought-after Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association went to Steve Byrne.

Simon Thoumire, event founder and promoter, said: ‘As always, the Trad Awards amaze me. It shows the strength of the scene, breadth of talent and sheer scale of the industry. We are really excited to announce two new awards this year, each with important recognition; The Trad Video of The Year and Musician of The Year.’

Stuart Fleming, senior membership manager Scotland & Northern Ireland, PRS for Music, said: ‘Congratulations to all of the nominees and worthy winners. It’s great to see such diverse talent recognised at the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards which continue to showcase the incredible writing and creative talent within the Scottish traditional music community. PRS for Music is proud to once again support the Composer of the Year Award – especially this year with all the nominees being exciting female composers.’

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed