Apply to the 2017 Richard Toeman Scholarship

music publishers association

Applications for the Music Publishers Association’s (MPA) 2017 Richard Toeman Scholarship are now open.

The scholarship offers two places within the music publishing sector for an entrant with less than five years’ experience of the business and a final year student/recent graduate.

Both winners will receive complementary places on the MPA Induction Course and all MPA/MMF Music Publishing Professional Development Course modules, £500 towards further relevant training, a ticket to the MPA Christmas Lunch 2017, invitations to MPA member socials, a complementary MusicAlly subscription and a Music Week directory as well as other industry prizes. The two winning applicants will also receive professional career coaching of their choice.

Claire McAuley, MPA general manager, said: ‘The Richard Toeman Scholarship is a one of kind programme that exists to support up and coming talent in our industry, providing two outstanding applicants with all the tools necessary to make the most successful start in their careers as music publishers.

‘The scholarship has an impressive alumni and many of the winners have gone on to work for MPA members, a testament to its success. Ensuring a robust and skilled workforce is of paramount importance to our industry and the MPA is proud to provide the scholarship as part of our educational and outreach initiatives.’

The scholarship is named in memory of Richard Toeman who died suddenly in March 2005 following a successful 40-year career at Josef Weinberger Ltd.

The professional category winner will also receive complementary places on two MPA specialist seminars. The student/recent graduate winner will receive a complementary MPA student membership (if applicable) and assistance in securing a relevant and paid work placement as well as support in seeking longer term employment opportunities and internships.

Full details of the scheme are now available on the MPA website, with entries closing on Friday 21 April 2017.