IMPEL announces 2017 board election results

impel music

The Independent Music Publishers e-Licensing (IMPEL) initiative has announced the results of its 2017 board election.

Downtown Music Publishing’s Roberto Neri and Peter Thomas (Carlin Music) join the board, as Maria Forte (Fintage) and Stuart Hornall (Hornall Brothers) stand down.

John Minch (Imagem), Simon Platz (Bucks Music), Nigel Elderton (peermusic), Chris Butler (Music Sales Group), John Truelove (Truelove Music) and Mike Box (Reservoir/Reverb) have all been re-elected.

IMPEL was established in 2010, enabling independent publishers to collectively license their Anglo-American mechanical digital rights on a pan-European basis.

It now has nearly 50 members, including Beggars Music, Bucks Music, Imagem, Mute Song, peermusic, Music Sales and Warp, and represents some of the world’s leading songwriters and composers.

Along with the Music Publishers Association (MPA), Mechanical Copyright Protection Society (MCPS) and Printed Music Licensing Limited (PMLL), IMPEL is part of the MPA Group of Companies.